Black History Month: The Harlem Renaissance & Jazz Music

The forth grade had a printmaking project all of their own. They also followed the same introduction as grades 2,3,5.

Their printmaking project consisted of them drawing first on cardboard in pencil, instuments and music notes, with a heavy emphasis on overlapping.

4th Grade Printmaking

4th Grade Printmaking

Then they varnished them, and traced their lines with glue. (I highly recommend to varnish several coatsĀ first, or else the glue will not be raised enough to print)

Then they printed!

4th Grade Printmaking

4th Grade Printmaking

4th Grade Printmaking

4th Grade Printmaking

4th Grade Printmaking4th Grade Printmaking

4th Grade Printmaking

Black History Bulletin Board

 

Till next time!

Art Power

 

 

About Ms. Luna

Here we go! Year number four! Teaching artist at Mark Twain Elementary! I started my career in 2002, in the New York City Schools as a Special Education Middle School teacher. Moving back to my hometown of Columbus, Ohio, I continued teaching Special Education and also began teaching after school and summer art programs. Moving again to Houston, Texas. I have taught all levels and abilities from kindergarten to college and am very excited to be teaching here at Mark Twain! I am also a professional artist and designer that shows work worldwide. I have been featured in the Houston Chronicle, Austin Fashion Week, Houston Press, and at the Grassi Museum of the Applied Arts in Germany. I hold a Masters of Science in Special Education from Manhattan College and a Masters of Fine Arts from the Academy of Art University. I currently am teaching grades kindergarten through fifth and am an adjuct art professor at Alvin Community College.

One response to “Black History Month: The Harlem Renaissance & Jazz Music

  1. Dear Ms. Luna, I’m teaching a college course on the Harlem Renaissance to undergrads. Their final project is a paper that connects a 20s, 30s era Black artist to a contemporary race relations topic and culminates in producing art about that topic in a style that mimics that of one of the artists. (Last time I taught this Romare Bearden was the most frequently chosen but many others were also represented as well. Lesson learned, this time I’m limiting the number of students who can choose the same artist. I did have one brave young woman attempt Augusta Savage last time.) As I revise the syllabus for this fall I am putting a link to your Aaron Douglas lesson. I want my college age students to get over their fear of producing art by seeing what THIRD GRADERS can do. Thanks for the inspiration!
    Juli McGruder
    University of Puget Sound.

Leave a comment