The Cave Paintings of Lascaux

Art Club has started back up and in full swing! The sign up list only allotted for 30 names, along with a reserve list of another 30 names for replacements when students inevitably drop out, plus the extra added 15 names of kids that still wanted in before I could take the sign up lists down, I’d say Art Club is pretty popular!

Our first meeting was last week and I decided that we would get a heavy dose of art history this year. So when I found this graphic, I thought it would be perfect to follow and have an awesome time line by the end of the year.

So we got started with the first art ever discovered, The Cave Paintings of Lascaux! We watched a video and then made some connections to where they’d seen cave paintings. (The Croods) Then we taped paper under the tables and with limited palettes and freedom to paint stick figures and their hands (which they are never, never, never allowed to do during art class) the room was HUMMING with excitement!

Cave Painting

Cave Painting Cave Painting Cave Painting IMG_1798 Cave Painting

Cave Paintings Cave Paintings
Ms. Luna's signature

About Ms. Luna

Here we go! Year number four! Teaching artist at Mark Twain Elementary! I started my career in 2002, in the New York City Schools as a Special Education Middle School teacher. Moving back to my hometown of Columbus, Ohio, I continued teaching Special Education and also began teaching after school and summer art programs. Moving again to Houston, Texas. I have taught all levels and abilities from kindergarten to college and am very excited to be teaching here at Mark Twain! I am also a professional artist and designer that shows work worldwide. I have been featured in the Houston Chronicle, Austin Fashion Week, Houston Press, and at the Grassi Museum of the Applied Arts in Germany. I hold a Masters of Science in Special Education from Manhattan College and a Masters of Fine Arts from the Academy of Art University. I currently am teaching grades kindergarten through fifth and am an adjuct art professor at Alvin Community College.

One response to “The Cave Paintings of Lascaux

  1. Pingback: Art Club travels to Ancient Egypt | Slanging Paint In 160

Leave a Reply

