Walk with me (Part II)

Now we have  made it into the classroom, and to your left and right you’ll see our Masterpiece Gallery.

Masterpiece Gallery

Masterpiece Gallery

Masterpiece Gallery II

These frames aren’t for classwork. These frames are for the random pieces of art that children love to give the teacher. I know over the years of teaching, I would average at least 3-4 new drawings a week. Now there is a place for the students to have them on display, and get that moment in the spotlight.

As we move on, we come to the front of the room, where one of the most important posters is hanging.

Write your Name

Write your name, Art Job, and Art Catchup

Any teacher will tell you of the struggle to get children to remember to write their names on their art. So they have a huge visual reminder that it is needed. The giant crayon is my son’s old crayon bank hot glued to the poster board. The majority of my posters were made with tee shirt puffy paint. I’ve found it to make really cool textures.

Classroom jobs, will correspond with colored stickers on the chairs, and Art Catchup day is when students need to make up work.

Onward!

Art Posters

These posters and those below are hanging at the front of my room.

The three below, My *** Paper, Proper Brush Handling, and Bearden the cat  are all available online.

The super awesome, Keep Calm and Teach Art canvas, was once a shirt.  But after a war with some bleach, it became a wall hanging.

Palette clock I just couldn’t say no to.

Art Posters

And on to my teacher area.

Teacher area

This is very much unfinished because there’s not much there, and all teachers have a ton of stuff in their areas!

On the left are framed photocopies of my Masters degrees, as well as a little collage I put together for some college spirit. I like to let students know that they can actually go to college for art, so that they won’t be afraid to pursue it, as they are encouraged to go to college.  I’ve also hung a few paintings I’ve made, drawings of my family, and a newspaper article I was in.  My name is on the wall very large so that the students will have that reminder, and also photos of sneakers that I painted on go all around the border of the room.

I bought a wonderful art word wall from Teachers Pay Teachers, but needed an effective storage system. So the new word wall storage box was made with a cracker box and duct tape!  Seal the box shut with tape and with and X-acto blade cut three sides. VIOLA! Storage! I used the cardboard sheet that comes with construction paper for the dividers and added clear packing tape on the inside for reinforcement.

Word Wall Storage

Make sure to swing by Rhythm and Glues, a elementary music and art blog by two fabulous fellow district Fine Art teachers!

About Ms. Luna

Here we go! Year number four! Teaching artist at Mark Twain Elementary! I started my career in 2002, in the New York City Schools as a Special Education Middle School teacher. Moving back to my hometown of Columbus, Ohio, I continued teaching Special Education and also began teaching after school and summer art programs. Moving again to Houston, Texas. I have taught all levels and abilities from kindergarten to college and am very excited to be teaching here at Mark Twain! I am also a professional artist and designer that shows work worldwide. I have been featured in the Houston Chronicle, Austin Fashion Week, Houston Press, and at the Grassi Museum of the Applied Arts in Germany. I hold a Masters of Science in Special Education from Manhattan College and a Masters of Fine Arts from the Academy of Art University. I currently am teaching grades kindergarten through fifth and am an adjuct art professor at Alvin Community College.

One response to “Walk with me (Part II)

  1. Pingback: Walk with me (Part III) | Slanging Paint In 160

Leave a Reply

