Walk with me (Part I)

Welcome to room 160! Now that school is less than one week away, I’ve been working hard to get the room up to tip top, art teacher, paint slanging FABULOUS-ness!

I think it’s pretty darn close. Take a look!

The Front Door

Le front door

Before entering the room, there is a short hallway with two bulletin boards on either side. On one side I did this…

Stan Lee Facebook Page

Stan Lee Facebook Page

All of dear ol Stan’s friends are these artists and designers to give the kids variety of creative careers.

Facebook friends

top left to right: Stan Lee, Antoni Gaudi, Constantin Brancusi, Romare Bearden
middle left to right: Diego Rivera, Elizabeth Catlett, Frida Kahlo,
bottom left to right: Alexander McQueen, Michelangelo, Christian Louboutin

All of them just also happen to be how the classroom tables are labeled and also have mobiles hanging overhead that the children will be sitting under all year long.

Stan Lee Mobile

Stan Lee Mobile

Freda Kahlo Mobile

Freda Kahlo Mobile

The best thing about the Facebook bulletin board is that it will stay up all year long, and the portrait of the artist, artist’s work, and poster board of information is the only thing that will get swapped out!

On the other side, I’ve done this…

First week exit ticket. Kids put up Post-It notes of their opinions of art.

First week exit ticket. Kids put up Post-It notes of their opinions of art.

 

 

**Update**

The bulletin board is a success!

What is art? With post-it note answers by the kids.

What is art? With post-it note answers by the kids.

 

About Ms. Luna

Here we go! Year number four! Teaching artist at Mark Twain Elementary! I started my career in 2002, in the New York City Schools as a Special Education Middle School teacher. Moving back to my hometown of Columbus, Ohio, I continued teaching Special Education and also began teaching after school and summer art programs. Moving again to Houston, Texas. I have taught all levels and abilities from kindergarten to college and am very excited to be teaching here at Mark Twain! I am also a professional artist and designer that shows work worldwide. I have been featured in the Houston Chronicle, Austin Fashion Week, Houston Press, and at the Grassi Museum of the Applied Arts in Germany. I hold a Masters of Science in Special Education from Manhattan College and a Masters of Fine Arts from the Academy of Art University. I currently am teaching grades kindergarten through fifth and am an adjuct art professor at Alvin Community College.

One response to “Walk with me (Part I)

  1. Pingback: Music Room Seating Arrangements | Rhythm And Glues

Leave a Reply

